I’m just mad about savron…

All the things Link said, all the things Link said, running through my head…

You might be reading that title thinking “What a dummy, he doesn’t even know how to spell saffron”. You might also be reading that title thinking, what is that supposed to mean? You might also be reading the title and thinking, I have no idea what that is from. Some of you may not have figured out that 90% of my titles and captions are song or movie references. Some of you aren’t even reading the title. Some of you aren’t even reading this.

Let me address all of these: I certainly am a dummy, but for many many other reasons than my ability or inability to spell saffron. It should be noted that I spent a good deal of my childhood watching cooking shows so I have a pretty good sense of how to spell most spices. Right back to it, check, not a dummy for spelling, dummy for other things, moving on.

The title is a quote from Donovan’s song “Mellow Yellow”. I have an eclectic taste in music and pull from all genres. For those that didn’t know I quote movies and songs all the time in my posts… Well, if you don’t know, now you know. Addressing the 2 not reading items… well… I mean it’s your choice, you might be missing out on something fun and quirky. Honestly, who are we kidding here, you’re not missing anything, I’m shocked every time I see more than 3 people read this thing.

Finally, the point of the message (I know, you were thinking it would never come. Honestly, so was I! This guy can drone on about mundane things for hours, I don’t even know why I keep coming back. (He talks to himself more than he talks to us. It’s really annoying (Yeah, who does he think he is? He’s the “writer” so he thinks he gets to decide what we want to read?(Wasn’t this blog supposed to be about his family?))) I bet you thought I was gonna miss this parenthesis. (I didn’t!)) this blog post is all about things Link says. I’m gonna cover a few and I am sure I will have more in the future.

So he’s wearing what my other boys affectionately call a “stratch out” shirt. This is a tank top people, I have no idea how it got the name “stratch out” though I think it’s related to the extra room in the shirt and they boys felt like they could “stretch out”. I could be wrong on the details here, I’ll let someone correct me later. Anyhow this is a little Nike tank top shirt.

Link, always the animated one, starts talking about how great his shirt is, he decides to start describing it. “It’s balue and it has da words on it. I love my savron shirt, it’s da best!” He always talks with his hands, so they’re waving pretty good at this point.

“Wait, what? You love what buddy?” I ask.

“Uh, daaad, my SAVRON shirt!” he replies.

Still clueless I ask, “Oh… what’s savron, duder?”

“Daaaahd, it’s da game! Savron!” he says to me with a furrowed brow. He also does this thing where he looks down and to the left when he’s getting really serious. Almost like side eyeing you.

As a parent of more than one kid, I figured out a long time ago that kids speak the same language. I check with the other boys, they have no idea what he’s talking about.

I go back to Link and I ask him, “Hey buddy, can you tell me about savron?”

Arms go to waving, brow furrowed, “Daaaaaahd! You know, SAVRON! When dey run and kick da ball up and down.”

There you have it folks, savron is soccer.

My all time favorite entry into the Linxicon (see what I did there, I portmanteau’d Link and lexicon, man I’m so clever) is “blanklet”. He means blanket, but he always says “blanklet”. I only call them blanklets now too. We’ve decided this one will stick, I don’t care how much he hates it when he gets older.

I was going to provide a few more entries, but I rambled about some stuff (shocking, right?) and feel like my word count is reaching the quota. Until next time, snuggle up under your blanklet and tune your television to a savron match.

Leave a comment